Living for the Glory of God

True Christianity lives to know God and His glory. (John 17:22-23 “The glory that you have given me I have given to them, that they may be one even as we are one, I in them and you in me, that they may become perfectly one, so that the world may know that you sent me and loved them even as you loved me.” ) There is definite sacrifice, struggle, and pain, like any other life, but for the Christian, the joy set before us out weighs the strife of the moment. (Hebrews 12:1-2 “Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is seated at the right hand of the throne of God.”) We don’t give up our lives because it is the spiritual thing to do. We give our lives in exchange for Christ’s life. (Galatians 2:20 “I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.”) He has promised it to us, and it is not merely a reward for the end of our days, but a necessary transformation for the immediate present. (Ephesians 2:6 “…even when we were dead in our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ—by grace you have been saved—and raised us up with him and seated us with him in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus…”) We don’t take up our cross simply because Christ did, but because there is glory to be had after each moment we crucify our flesh; the glory of God. That is what the world needs to see, a people who endure suffering and sacrificing, not for the pain’s sake, but for breakthrough into available abundant life! The life of Christ.

Christian maturity denies a powerless life. Knowing God is to know his power as well as his kindness and discipline. A person that knows and bears witness to the power of God will walk in the power of God. That’s when the world turns in awe and cannot help but glorify God! (1 Corinthians 2:4-5 “…and my speech and my message were not in plausible words of wisdom, but in demonstration of the Spirit and of power, so that your faith might not rest in the wisdom of men but in the power of God.”)

I want so much to live in the abundant life of Christ! I want to know the surpassing value of his glory. I want to know the power of God, and I want to know God.

Leave a Reply

