Suicide Bombers and Worship

I was reading this article and couldn’t help put myself in the shoes of one of the worshippers there. This kind of attack is uncommon in Afghanistan, but the people there are not strangers to the reality of suicide bombings. In this attack in Kabul, 55 people, including women and children, were killed. Lives ended like just like that. They were worshipping. They were actually killed BECAUSE they were worshipping. And that’s what disturbs me the most.

I am a passionate Christian, I don’t agree with much of the Muslim faith, but they were worshipping. I know how much that means to a person of faith. To be attacked, not only during your time of worship, but because you were worshipping, is heart breaking. I don’t know what worship is like for a genuine Muslim believer, but for me, it’s an intimate, personal, and emotional part of my life. I have personal times of worship on my own time, and I join in group worship times at church. Singing, praying, eating and talking with other people of like faith is a powerful thing, and it provides so much to the human soul. To think that some one would want to violently disrupt and destroy that part of life is sinister, pure evil. Regardless if I think Muslims are worshipping the right god, these people were attacked and killed during a very vulnerable, intimate and emotional part of their lives.

There were actually two attacks this morning. One in Kabul and another in a northern Afghan city. The attack in Kabul was the deadliest, killing 55 people and wounding more than 160 others. In my small town here, that’s nearly 10% of our population; and that’s in one day. Afghanistan has felt the blast of hundreds of past bombers. The nature of this attack was rare, but they are not unfamiliar with suicide attackers. Attacks like this are seen more in Pakistan. I remember, Christmas 2009, reading about suicide bombers and attacks in Pakistan that took the lives of more than 600 people. That was during a period of two week surrounding our Christmas season. In those two weeks, more Pakistani civilians died because of their beliefs than the Coalition forces lost in that entire year. They are dying in a war that they’re not even necessarily fighting for.

The families effected by this mornings attacks will have my heart in prayer. No one deserves to be assaulted like that. Not even the one’s who pushed the button on their own bombs.

Leave a Reply

