Going back to Square One

This is my third time reading Crazy Love by Francis Chan and guaranteed it will not be my last. I get blown away every time. Every chapter I read I feel like I could read twice, because so much of it hits home hard. If you haven’t read it yet, pick up a copy. It will tear your insides apart. In the most pleasant way .. . 😉

I’m going to be going through the book posting excerpts of what jumps at me and challenges what’s going on inside my head. Drop some input and let’s get some discussions flowing!

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

“There is an epidemic of spiritual amnesia going around, and none of us is immune.”

He couldn’t have put it better. We take so much of God for granted. Most of the time, not even realizing it.  We learn fascinating details about his personality and in one way or another, we are embraced by his creation every day. Yet somehow, we still forget. And some days we forget even to love him. I know I do.

Pause and think about the first time you fell in love. This warm fuzzy feeling takes over me as I look back and remember. Thinking about everything stills sends me on a goose bumpy trip and makes me feel like my giggly 8 year old sister. Everything is so clear and fresh. Pure joy runs through my veins.

When was the last time you felt like that about God?

It’s so easy to get wrapped up in everything else, that even though in our inner depths we’re still crazy about God, we forget to give him our first attention.

One of my favourite things is waking up to a text from Joel saying Good morning. I kind of love the fact that I’m one of the first things he thinks about and he lets me know. And even though I know he loves me, I would hate it if he stopped telling me.

God wants the affirmation of our love. Not because he needs it. He wants to hear us say we love him. He wants our attention. And he deserves it. Just take a look around at everything he has made and done. Let him blow your mind.

You should click on this and watch the video.

Just Stop and Think

I know, right? I really want to go surfing now!

Leave a Reply

