Find your Calcutta

“This is the kind of fast I’m after:
to break the chains of injustice,
get rid of exploitation in the workplace,
free the oppressed,
cancel debts.
What I’m interested in seeing you do is:
sharing your food with the hungry,
inviting the homeless poor into your homes,
putting clothes on the shivering ill-clad,
being available to your own families.
Do this and the lights will turn on,
and your lives will turn around at once.
Your righteousness will pave your way.
The God of glory will secure your passage.
Then when you pray, God will answer.
You’ll call out for help and I’ll say, “Here I am.””

Isaiah 58: 6-9

Sheer beauty.

The inspiration that flows from this verse gets me every time I read it. It stirs something up within me. A cry for justice, a longing to go and do something, a reminder of how beautiful of a God we have . . . It’s like a symphony. Resonating, raising then Sha-BAM! It blows my mind.

I have a heart for justice. When I read this verse, it refreshes me and reminds me of what God has called me to do. While I was sitting thinking about this verse, my thoughts took a different turn. I feel like I can’t fulfill this whole “calling” while I’m in North America. While in a third world country, it’s so easy to. You see it right in front of you. You walk down the street and there are the oppressed, hungry and naked. They are there right before your eyes and it’s hard not to do anything about it. You want to. You need to.

Then I heard it. That voice. The small beautiful one that edges in quietly, telling me to open my eyes and actually look.

It’s here too.

It’s right in the town I live in. Although they may have food to eat, they’re hungry. They are hungry for love, attention and a need to feel like they have a purpose. Even though clothed, they’re naked and cold, wanting and waiting for someone to notice and show them the way. Although free, they’re still oppressed by this explainable weight. They need love. They need God.

Where ever you go, needs are everywhere. They’re just in different forms. Most of the time, in forms we really don’t want them to be in.

It’s like Mother Teresa said (I love that woman. Just sayin…),

“Calcuttas are everywhere if only we have eyes to see. Find your Calcutta.”

Leave a Reply

