Reflections on Contentment

“For I have learned to be content, whatever the circumstances may be . . .”

Heck! I wish!

First off, what is contentment? Let’s talk about that for a moment . . .

To me, contentment is having a peace in your heart and mind. It’s coming to a place where you’re just chill with what life is bringing your way. Kind of this “come what may” attitude.

Contentment, like most other things, is good in moderation. You don’t want to become so content that you don’t want to move or change. But at the same time, too little contentment has you leaning on the discontentment side, leaving you antsy with nothing able to satisfy you. It’s all about finding a healthy balance, which all depends on the individual.

I’m the type of person with too little contentment, especially when it comes to what I’m doing with life. I always feel this need for more, which mind you isn’t necessarily a bad thing. But I’m never satisfied. With this lack of contentment running through my veins, I tend to look forward in anticipation for what will come my way next. In this situation, I can’t dive into the now and enjoy the moment fully, because I don’t really like where I’m at. Instead I sit waiting, working towards the point where I want to be.

Finally, I’m learning to stop and realize that after a year of feeling like this, God’s most likely trying to teach me something. He has me where I’m at for a reason. And what He really wants from me is to just learn how to be content. To learn to rest in Him, knowing that one way or another the dreams I want to pursue will come about. To learn to be at peace, whether I’m sitting, walking or running in the direction He’s pointing me to.

When I’ve learned to lay my desires, hopes and dreams at His feet and wholeheartedly say, “I’m Yours,” then is when contentment will flood over. At this point, it’s no longer just myself who I’ve placed in my best interest, but someone higher.

Leave a Reply

