Love is the key to opening the door of Success.

Success is a huge deal in the society we live in today.  It’s what the majourity of our emphasis is based on. When we look at a person, we often look at their achievements and how far they’ve come along in life. In North America, we have this success scale where people are weighed by what university they go to, what degree they’ve achieved, how much money they have . . .  The list is extensive.  Whereas, cross the Atlantic and travel into the Western Sahara desert, you’ll find a community of villagers that base their success on something else,  like how many goats or wives a man has. The point is, no matter where you go, success will be a key trait that is not only required, but also desired.  Every person, young and old, feels the need to get and build up themselves. It starts when you’re old enough to say, “Mom, look at me!” and from there on the desire will stay with you in one form or another until you die.  The deal with success is that it’s measured by the standard that the observer holds. In one person’s view, you may be admired as the most successful in the world. Whereas to another, they may view your deeds on the same level as scum. It’s a maddening game you can’t win. But loosing isn’t an option. Without success we feel as if we are nothing.  Really, are we nothing with out it?

Alright now, I’m going to give this a more spiritual twist. What’s God’s view on success? Look though His eyes for a moment. Roll what you see around in your mind. When He looks at us, He doesn’t look at what job or degree we have. He bypasses our bank account. What He looks at is our heart and the love we’ve passed on to those around us. Viewing how we’ve treated “the least of these,” it’s by our actions of love that He bases our success on. If this success  would truly sink into the depths of our hearts, think of the crazy awesome world we would have. If love was our success focus, the problems we have would cease to exist.  Love is it. When put into practice, it’s the key to opening the lock of a successful life.

The apostle Paul couldn’t have put it more beautifully . . .

“If I speak with human eloquence and angelic ecstasy but don’t love,  I’m nothing but the creaking of a rusty gate.  If I speak God’s Word with power, revealing all his mysteries and making everything plain as day, and if I have faith that says to a mountain, “Jump,” and it jumps, but I don’t love,  I’m nothing. If I give everything I own to the poor and even go to the stake to be burned as a martyr, but I don’t love,  I’ve gotten nowhere.  No matter what I say, what I believe, and what I do,  I’m bankrupt without love.”

One thought on “Love is the key to opening the door of Success.

  1. OH man. This is so clear and so what I needed to hear. I didn’t even really get it when you read it out after you wrote it. This is good Jade.

    “The deal with success is that it’s measured by the standard that the observer holds.” This make so much sense, it’s not even funny. Because then you can place value on certain observers’ opinions. If the only observer that you value is the Father, then you’re in a healthy place. That’s what I was trying to get at, but couldn’t really find the words.

Leave a Reply

